Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Times

My first 19 mile long run in 2008 was this past Saturday. It was fun chatting it up with the girls...well, I did most of the talking. They don't seem to mind really. And hey Q, our conversations are not boring! Aside from formulating a plan to solve world hunger, we got into a lighter discussion on the latest technological innovations in eliminating pantylines. This led to more insight and sharing on seamless panties and the pros and cons of medium versus less coverage.

Keeping in the tradition of most long runs, I forgot something vital that I had come to rely on as my running necessity. The forgot the Amino Vital! There was no need to panic, just needed an immediate plan B. Turns out, I don't really need them. Although I won't be forgetting them for the next run, I survived on regular carb gel and have not died as a result!

My younger sister Ragini just passed the yoga boards and has now become a certified yoga instructor. I'm proud of her for following her passion. This reminds me of the time last year when she ran a half-marathon on her treadmill. Hey, we are not all outdoor people! My folks have got to be surely proud that all three of their children have cultivated some legal and productive hobbies! :)

So, to offer some sibling support, I will go to a class. I'm having a hard time figuring out how I will attend a class she teaches since She only teaches one 9 am class on Wednesdays. Yes, and that is it! That's a great job but how do you pay the bills?! :)

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Lost in Translation



Not only do I LOVE this song, I love Rekha in this movie! She is a legendary Bollywood actress and indescribably captivating in this film. One of her best roles no doubt. There is no movie like the original Umrao Jaan. :) Sorry, Aishwarya fans.

BUT the subtitles to the song in this YouTube video are for a lack of better words...A Disappointment!! Who translates this stuff!?! Puleassee! You are ruining one of my favorite songs!!

Understandably, there are no words in the English language that can fully capture the meaning and nuances of many Hindi words like Dil or Jaan but the subtitles here do NOOO justice to my song.

It makes me ponder on how words capture meanings. What if a language does not have a word to describe an intangible verb? Does that mean the speaker cannot fully comprehend the feelings that other languages have came up with terms for? Perhaps, but I'm open to opposing views.

When I hear the Hindi word Dil, I scan for words in the English language and the first word that comes to mind is desire, then longing. Even still, neither of those words fully capture the essence of Dil. Even more difficult to translate is the word Jaan. Jaan is just jaan, to me, but it provokes a feeling that can only be described by the word Jaan. It cannot be described by words such as lifeline, soul or heart. It's simply necessary to have listened to these words and have used them in its proper context to appreciate its true meaning.

I am fortunate and thankful that my mother tongue is Hindi. I have an appreciation for the language like only a mother-tongue speaker would. I get offended when words from the language I know and love are obliterated and translated to represent a meaning that does not capture the true essence.

My disapproval to the subtitles led to research. I found a website offering a more approving translation to the lyrics. I hope that non-Hindi speakers too can appreciate this melody and the meaning behind the lyrics even a fraction of what I do.

Aa aa aa aa, aa aa aa
Dil cheez kya hai aap meri jaan lijiye - 2
What is the heart; take my life
Bas ek baar mera kaha
Just one time, what I say
Bas ek baar mera kaha maan lijiye - 2
Just one time, heed what I say
Dil cheez kya hai aap meri jaan lijiye
What is the heart; take my life

Is anjuman mein aap ko
In this gathering
Is anjuman mein, aah, aah aah aah
In this gathering
Is anjuman mein aap ko
In this gathering
Is anjuman mein aap ko aana hai baar baar
In this gathering, you have to come time and time again
Aana hai baar baar
You have to come time and time again
Deevaar-o-dar ko gaur se
The walls and doors, with concentration
Deevaar-o-dar ko gaur se pehchaan lijiye - 2
You recognize the walls and doors with concentration
Dil cheez kya hai aap meri jaan lijiye
What is the heart; take my life

Maana ke doston ko nahin
I understand that friends don't
Doston, doston ko nahin
Friends, friends don't
Maana ke doston ko nahin dosti ka paas
I understand that friends don't supervise one another
Lekin yeh kya ke gair ka

But is it so that
Lekin yeh kya ke gair ka ehsaan lijiye - 2
But is it so that you take favors from a stranger?
Dil cheez kya hai aap meri jaan lijiye
What is the heart; take my life

Kahiye to
If you say so
Kahiye to aasmaan ko
If you say so
Kahiye to aasmaan ko zameen par utaar laaye
If you say so, I will bring the sky down to the ground
Mushkil nahin hai kuch bhi
Nothing is difficult
Mushkil nahin hai kuch bhi agar thaan lijiye - 2
Nothing is difficult if you firmly pursue it
Dil cheez kya hai aap meri jaan lijiye
What is the heart; take my life
Bas ek baar, bas ek baar
Just one time, just one time
Bas ek baar mera kaha maan lijiye
Just one time, heed what I say
Maan lijiye, maan lijiye
Heed it, heed it

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Full Moon Magic

I am hoping for some moon magic.

The past week has been a hectic chain of events originating from one thing, which led to another and got the rock cascading in a path alternate to my plans. Without getting into the nitty gritty details; my social life had to suffer a bit but it's looking back on track now.

I went for an evening run earlier and the full moon did not disappoint. He, She, maybe It or simply THE moon was magnificent and radiating in all its glory. I'm not any physicists now, BUT I do believe that full moons impose a greater gravitational force than lesser moons. And aren't they gorgeous?! Could that be the reason why I was gliding away so swiftly on my feet this evening? Maybe it was the extra reserve from the rest and relaxation these past few days or the new shoes.

I got the very necessary sleep I required this past weekend and led the pace group on our 17 mile training run Saturday. The group was smaller this week but we all stuck together through the bathroom and stretch breaks. I run with some remarkable women. We frequently end up smoothing out life's problems in stimulating conversations during our runs. Gotta love the girl-talks too ;) I heard very good advice regarding ice baths and stretching. One of these days.. I'll be better about it :)

The rest of the weekend was somber and laid back. Met up with friends at The Belmont patio on Sunday for the evening skyline view of Dallas to go with some drinks and food. It's always nice to view the city skyline from this hidden more tucked-away part of town.


Unfortunately, I could not make it out to the Plano Pacers Prediction run this evening as I had so hoped for :( I was bummed because I had to take a final exam during that time which was horrendous btw. I can't wait to see my grade. Dang it! If only it was a prediction exam! :) Bianca did excellent in her prediction and even came out with a win! A red ribbon for her efforts.

In other news, I couldn't resist staying up past my bedtime again last night. I caught the last bit of the Charlie Rose interview with Bill Maher and Larry Charles on Religulous. Charlie Rose had other 'experts' to counteract the views of Maher and Charles and it made for an interesting debate. It has certainly got my attention. I'll try and watch it sometime this weekend.

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

TDF 2008

I wasn't going to let my total of two fans hangin' by not blogging about TDF. Hehe! I got some encouragement from my running buddies this past Saturday that my TDF pics look HOT. They used words like race posters!

I'm flattered but wonder if they are just humoring me. Either way, I like that I have fans :D

So, here is photo approaching kilometer 18.
I'm kookoo for running with my ipod. It's my favorite race song Shut up and Drive from my girl Rhianna.



Kilometer 18 point something..




It was fun to come out of race hibernation! It really got me thinking about how much I enjoy running and participating in races. My favorite part is sprinting to the finish! This was my third TDF and so I've had a past with this event. I finished a few seconds faster than last year at 1h55:56 and suppose that made my day.
Here are the official race results: http://www.tourdesfleurs.com/

I found Lisa at the beer garden after the race. What a fun day to have crazy adventures through the Arboretum after a 20K race and a beer buzz.

Lisa wrote more about it on her blog. http://lisaawes.wordpress.com/ Lets just say it makes me wonder if you linger too long at after-race beer gardens, that you will eventually stumble into beer-buzzing random runners that politely ask you to pose in their photos.

Just wanted to point out that I became a fan of the race beer sponsors Stampede Light. It only took one sip and of course I was in. I didn't know right then that I'd be drinking so many. I indulged in a few more as it's bad manners to pass up good cold and free race beers served by very nice people. Lisa was not far behind. In fact, I think she was a beer ahead.
Anyhow, I wish I had more pics of the beer garden event but it didn't occur to us that while we were being directed to pose in pictures by random dudes that we also might want to capture that awkward moment.

I have fond memories though, so it must have been a sentimental day.

On side note...this might confirm that I need to work on my beer gut a little but I guess I'm not ashamed of my chubbiness:p


Not today but maybe next week.

Nothing eventful

I've had some problems logging on to this site, i.e. fallen behind lately with blogging.
Not a whole lot has inspired me in the last week or so except for the feds radical plans to "bail-out" the financial depression. Hmm...stayed tuned for more.

I'm doing research on how the financial crisis will impact me. But for now, tons of work to get done. I just got a massive breather after finishing up part I of the group project in my 8 week Financial Accounting course. We are already into the 7th week and I have no idea why the time flies so fast!! This means final next week! Oooo, I know it. :) I'll be a good girl and do my studying on time.